August 25, 2010

  • Crystal

    It started with Princess.  I don't remember how she came into our life, except that she was my brother's beloved cat.  Then came Midnight, whom my brother rescued but became my sister's cat.  I was jealous that I didn't have a cat of my own, but I enjoyed playing with Princess and Midnight.  (In fact, when Princess was a baby my friend Kathy & I played with her so much that she fell asleep in her food bowl.)

    I think it was around 6th grade, which was 1989-1990.  I don't remember what season it was.  I remember my friend Maria and I walking down the street.  As we came to a corner just a few blocks from our houses, a van pulled up.  The person inside held up a kitty and asked if we wanted it.  We looked at each other.  Sure!  We took the kitty and the van pulled away.

    I tried to take the kitty home, but my Mom said no. So we took her to Maria's house, where her Mom said she could stay for a few days, but they couldn't keep her.  They were going to take her to the pound on Monday.  Over the weekend I worked hard to convince my parents they should let me have the kitten.  I told them that my sister and brother had a cat, it wasn't fair that I didn't have one too.  Finally they relented, and that is how you came into my life.

    You were there during that horrible phase called adolescence. You were with me (as much as possible) when I was in foster care.  You were with me as I grew up and got a job. You were with me as I moved out to begin my life as an adult. You were with me as I got engaged, stayed with him for 2 years, and then broke off the engagement.  You were with me when I moved in with my boyfriend.  You were with me when I got married.  You were with me when I became pregnant and endured horrible sickness. You were there when I brought my son home from the hospital, and comforted me through the resulting PPD & PTSD.  You were there entire 8 years as I worked my way towards a 2 year degree, and you were there to celebrate at the party.  (OK, you may have hidden in the bedroom during the actual party.)  You were there during my second pregnancy with horrible sickness.  You were here to welcome my daughter to our home.

    When you were younger you were known as "mean" to other people, but never to me.  No one else could touch you, but I could hold, pet, and cuddle with you. As you got older you started letting others near you, but you would still come to me.  You would lay on my hip as I nursed my son to sleep at night. You always knew when I was upset and would come to me and let me pet you.  Even when Kaya would pull great chunks of your hair out because we were distracted and hadn't gotten her quick enough, you never hurt her.  You knew she was a baby and just yelled to alert us to how she was hurting you.  But you never once hurt her back.  You were my lap kitty, happy to keep my lap warm for hours at a time.
     
    It's been 20 years, I knew the end would come soon.  But you seemed to be holding up so well, persevering through things I didn't think you would make it through.  Then came Sunday morning, August 22, 2010.  When I came downstairs we were playing in the living room and Julian saw that you hadn't made it to the litter box.  I looked at you and knew it was time. I spent the morning crying and holding you.  Eventually you moved away, into the kitchen.  I sat at my computer and started this post, keeping an eye on you.  You didn't want me to hold you, but as the final moments came (around noon) I was there next to your side, petting you.  Thank you for letting me be there.  I'm grateful that I was home for you on your final day, able to spend your last day with you.

    Thank you for being with me so long.  I love you and will always miss you.

    Rest In Peace, Crystal
    1989-2010

    Crystal & Midnight

Comments (1)

  • I missed this post. So sorry about your kitty. It's wonderful to have them to love for so long but feels so unfair that they can't stay forever

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *